​York College held its annual All-College Banquet Tuesday night at the Holthus Convention Center in York. This end-of-year celebration is a chance for the student body to gather with faculty and staff for a night of recognition and fellowship. Several awards were presented, including Mr. and Ms. YC. ​

Pics from Banquet 2016

PictureMr. and Ms. YC, Jameson Trauger and Morgan De Boer

Jameson Trauger and Morgan De Boer were named Mr. and Ms. YC 2016. YC faculty and staff make the selection for this award from among graduating seniors, using leadership, involvement, academic performance and personality as the criteria.

De Boer is an English major with a biology minor, from Council Bluffs, Iowa. She served as student body president in 2015 and served as a residence hall assistant in 2014 and 2015. She was the 2015 YC Female Athlete of the Year for her involvement with the cross country program, qualifying for nationals as an individual and as part of a team in previous years. She currently works for York College as an admissions counselor.

​Trauger is a history major from Exeter, Nebraska. He has been active all four years with the theater program at York and was a participant in Songfest and is a member of the Kyodai men's social club. Upon graduation, Jameson plans to work for the Fillmore County Historical Society.

PictureAthletic Director Jared Stark presents Nicole Gates with the Female Athlete of the Year Award.

Nicole Gates and Matthew Gastineau were honored as Student Athletes of the Year. This award is presented by Athletic Director Jared Stark to one male and one female athlete for their academic achievement as well as their leadership and service roles on their athletic teams. Gates was a four-year starter in volleyball, setting the all-time kills record at YC and Gastineau has been an anchor for men's cross country in his years at York, winning the conference title in his junior year.

Lindsey Eckert, Assistant Professor of Psychology, was voted by students as the 2016 Faculty Member of the Year, and Dennis Leinen, who has been a part of the buildings and grounds’ crew for eighteen years, was voted Staff Member of the Year. Justin Carver, head coach of the cross country and track programs, was given the David and Nellie Reppart Award for Service.

Recognized for their years of service to York College were: Dr. Clark Roush and Steddon Sikes (30 years); Dr. Alex Williams (10 years); and Jeff Finch, Larry Good, Courtney Kinnison, Veronica Miller, Catherine Seufferlein, and Dr. Terry Seufferlein (5 years). ​

PicturePresident Steve Eckman and David and Nellie Reppart Award recipient Justin Carver

Social clubs were also presented with year-end awards including: Academic Excellence Award to Theta Psi; Community Service Award to Delta Chi Alpha; Big Heart Award to Beta Beta Sigma; Women's All-Sports Award to Delta; and the Men's All-Sports Award to Koinonia. 

Caption (above): Mr. and Ms. YC candidates include Danielle Berry, senior communication - theatre major from Salem, Neb., Hannah Gund, senior psychology major from Marion, Ill., Kailey Firm, secondary senior math education major from Loves Park, Ill., Morgan De Boer (back row) Raul Ortiz III, senior elementary education major from Dallas, Texas, Nicole Gates, senior psychology major from Centennial, Colo., Jameson Trauger, Eryn Jacobson, senior business communication major from Fordland, Mo., Garrett Anctil, senior business administration major from Clovis, Calif., and Michael Johnson, senior psychology major from Union City, Calif.