The York College chapter of Alpha Chi, the collegiate national honor society, inducted 10 new members at a ceremony in the Prayer Chapel on Thursday, October 27.

Photo Gallery

New members inducted included graduate student Kory Slaughter of Junction City, Kan. Slaughter is in his fourth year as an assistant coach for York College’s nationally ranked men’s basketball team. Also inducted were undergraduate students Alyssa Brown (Lusby, Md.), Brittany Eckerberg (Gering, Neb.), Abigail Gonzalez (Buffalo, Wyo.), Grady Johnson (Great Falls, Mont.), Caleb Magner (York, Neb.), Ainsley Mountjoy (York, Neb.), Robert Thompson (Vinton, Iowa), Andrea Way (York, Neb.), and Jacob Wirka (Wahoo, Neb.).

Alpha Chi is an academic honor society that recognizes and promotes excellence in scholarship among college and university students of good character. Classified as a general honor society, meaning that it accepts members from all academic fields, Alpha Chi inducts no more than the top 10 percent of junior, senior, and graduate students at member institutions. Members receive recognition as distinguished students and members of one of the largest college honor societies in the world.

Faculty sponsors Dr. Louise Bailey, associate professor of education, and Dr. Terence Kite, professor of physics, lead the York College chapter. Dr. Bailey says that in addition to promoting scholarship at YC, the York Chapter of Alpha Chi is a service organization. They are looking for service opportunities for the year and making plans for how they will give back.

Returning members and officers include: Josiah Ahart (Ft. Worth, Texas), Kaylee Becker (Axtell, Neb.), Alyssa Didier (Littleton, Colo.), Derek Drews (Fremont, Neb.), Zanoria Echols (Olive Branch, Miss.), Halie Ewing (Liberty, Mo.), Bethany Ford (Greeley, Colo.), Nolan Henningson (Norcatur, Kan.), Bryce Hinton (Longview, Texas), Ashlee Ivey (York, Neb.), Courtney Lovelace (Lake Elsinore, Calif.), PJ Matha (Las Vegas, Nev.), Ana Osborn (Heidelberg, Germany), Natalie Ostrander (Rushville, Neb.), Sarah Shafer (Big Piney, Wyo.), Delaney Woods (York, Neb), and Kylie Wroot (North Platte, Neb.).