​York College has announced the winner of its most prestigious academic financial award, the Presidential Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to one incoming freshman each year and recognizes academic achievement as well as high moral character.

The 2017 Presidential Scholarship recipient is Kellie Fredendall of Jefferson City, Missouri. Fredendall is a 4.0 student with a busy schedule of activities including basketball, volleyball, student council, and membership or leadership roles with Future Business Leaders of America, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, American Sign Language Club, youth group, and National Honor Society.

Fredendall has participated in multiple service projects including Operation Bugle Boy and Operation Leaf Relief (Veterans appreciation events). She has volunteered at a children’s home and the Missouri Special Olympics, as well as at basketball camps as an instructor and at Little Prairie Bible Camp as a counselor. At York College, she will major in elementary education and play basketball.

To be considered for the Presidential Scholarship, students must meet high academic standards as well as submit written essays and other application materials. Top candidates were invited to campus for interviews. Eight students were selected as finalists for this award. Along with Fredendall, other finalists included: Brianna Eckerberg (Gering, Neb.), David Tupper (Ewa Beach, Hawaii), Elizabeth Ryan (Mountain Home, Idaho), Eva Maria Jones (Salem, Ore.), Jacob Kuhne (Mukwonago, Wis.), Joseph Wanninger (Berthoud, Colo.), and Kennedy Gray (Great Falls, Mont.). Finalists not selected for the Presidential Scholarship will receive the Dean’s Scholarship.